More than 60 Films From Around the World Selected for the Maryland International Film Festival

Hagerstown, MD – Tickets are now on sale for the Third Annual Maryland International Film Festival-Hagerstown.

The Maryland Theatre is the official box office for the entire film festival, call 301-790-3500, or at

The festival received well over 200 films from 32 countries. This was the largest number of foreign countries that submitted films, according to Tracie Hovey, Board of Directors Vice President. For the complete schedule of the film selections, see:

The Maryland International Film Festival, Hagerstown (MDIFF-H) is scheduled to run May 1-3, 2014. Venues include the Maryland Theatre, the Bridge of Life Center, and the Academy Theater. After parties are set for Bulls and Bears, 28 South, and the Broad Axe.

MDIFF-H will be screening films in several categories including: Feature, Documentary, Student, Short and Animation. Opening night will include the announcement of the 2014 Mendez Award. On the final night, the film festival awards will be announced at the Academy Theater.

The sponsors for the MDIFF-Hagerstown include: Washington County government, Hagerstown-Washington County Convention and Visitors Bureau, the City of Hagerstown, Ovation PR and Advertising, Thompson Gas, Kaplan University, High Rock and Leitersburg Cinemas, the Washington County Arts Council, Jay Frantz, Tom Riford, Bowman Hospitality, the Maryland Theatre, the Bridge of Life Center, What’s NXT, Columbia Bank-Hagerstown Trust Division and Hagerstown Community College.

The MDIFF-H 2014 Board of Directors include: Tom Riford, Tracie Hovey, Heather Guessford, Mary Anne Burke, Bob Bruchey, Bev David, Joseph Marschner, Nicole Houser, and Francine Donachie. The Board of Advisors include MDIFF-H Creative Director Joe Carnahan; Jody Arlington, Co-Founder of the Impact Arts and Film Fund; Dan Poyner, Bridge of Life Center; Karen Giffin, City of Hagerstown; Jay Frantz, Film and Television Actor; Abby Greensfelder, Co-Founder, Half-Yard Productions; Amy Letourneau, Sr. Director, Acquisitions at PBS Distribution; Steven Schupak, Sr. Vice President, Content Enterprises, Maryland Public Television; and Joseph Tovares, Sr. Vice President at Corporation for Public Broadcasting.

The MDIFF-H’s mission is to be a platform for independent filmmakers to engage audiences, collaborate with other filmmakers and educate the community with the celebration of film. For more information about MDIFF-H please call 916-712-2781 or access the website