Martinsburg Selected for Home Rule Pilot Program

The West Virginia Legislature created the Municipal Home Rule program in 2007.  The initial phase included Bridgeport, Charleston, Huntington, and Wheeling.  Last year, the Legislature modified the program and tasked the Municipal Home Rule Board with expanding the program by 16.  The Board accepted applications and then heard presentations at five regional meetings over the last three months.

The West Virginia Municipal Home Rule Board today announced 16 additional municipalities have been selected for West Virginia’s Home Rule Pilot Program.  After reviewing applications and hearing presentations from 22 applicants, the Home Rule Board added the following entities to the pilot program:  Bluefield, Buckhannon, Charles Town, Clarksburg, Dunbar, Fairmont, Martinsburg, Milton, Morgantown, Nitro, Parkersburg, Ranson, Shinnston, South Charleston, Vienna, and Weirton.