Fran Wire presents "George's Mill Farm: Memories of the Past"
Memories of the past at George’s Mill Farm will be brought to mind on Sunday, May 20, by Fran Wire, proprietor of George’s Mill Farm B&B and a former Board member of the Lovettsville Historical Society & Museum.
Fran will discuss the history and the colorful past of George’s Mill Farm, which is located just west of Lovettsville, off Irish Corner Road.
During the last year of the Civil War, the school house at George’s Mill was used as headquarters for Union cavalry troops, and was the site of a Confederate raid in January 1865. An enduring memory is the courting of Samuel George’s daughter Lizzie both by a New York Cavalry officer, and also by Christopher “Lum” Wenner, a neighbor and a Confederate soldier.
The farm’s recovery after the Civil War will be a focus of Fran Wire’s presentation, describing the farm’s way of life in the years before and after that period of turmoil.
Georges Mill Farm can be dated through records going back to 1774. At that time, the land was owned by John George, who had come here, to the German Settlement, around 1732 from Germany via Pennsylvania. George’s Mill Farm has remained in the hands of the George family for eight generations.
The program will be held at St. James United Church of Christ, 10 East Broad Way, Lovettsville, at 2:00 p.m. Admission is free, but donations are welcome to defray expenses of the program and to support the activities of the Lovettsville Historical Society.